top of page


“Ripp is a genuinely great songwriter” – Americana UK


I'm a singer songwriter in the Americana genre.  My start was in the coffee houses of Toronto some forty years ago.  Those folk beginnings were followed by a ten year run as front man and writer for Canadian roots rockers The Bel-Vistas.  The last couple of decades have been spent raising a family and pursuing music as a solo artist.  I work away in my home studio now and am sometimes involved in recording and producing for others.

My brand new album is out now on bandcamp and is titled "All Things Considered Vol 1"

Influences are many but the ones who set the bar high for me then and now include:  Tom Petty, Bob Dylan, John Hiatt, Neil Young  and Nick Lowe.

If you’re a fan of thoughtful, melodic, roots based song writing I encourage you to have a listen.  I perform solo and with several bands doing my original songs and a variety of covers.  My latest musical project is The Joyful Hope.  We do instrumental rock, surf and twang with a hint of blues



Some Highlights: 

  • songs published by Sony Music

  • recording artist with Eureka Records

  • album release in Europe with Blue Rose Records

  • radio play across Canada, the U.S., and Europe

  • video play on MuchMusic, CMT Canada and Europe

  • extensive live experience, including cross Canada touring

  • opening act for The Tragically Hip, Blue Rodeo and Tom Cochrane

  • critically well received in Europe and North America


  • "The Bel-Vistas" - self titled EP - released 1990 – independent

  • "Somewhere Along The Line" - The Bel-Vistas - released 1992 - Eureka/Capitol Records

  • "Pretty Ugly" - The Bel-Vistas - released 1994 - Blue Rose Records - independent

  • "Wherever I Go" - Mark Ripp - released 1997 – independent

  • "Minor Miracle" - Mark Ripp & The Confessors - released 2002 – independent

  • "Long Story Short" - Mark Ripp & The Confessors - released 2010 - independent

  • "Quiet Again" - Mark Ripp - released 2013- independent

  • “Under The Circumstances” – released 2017 – Independent / Banbury Park Records

  • “All Things Considered Vol 1" - released 2022 - Independent

bottom of page